Ceremony Celebrates Endowed Chair Appointments

March 08, 2008

Ceremony Celebrates Endowed Chair Appointments
An appointment to an endowed chair is the highlight of an academic career, and these important positions help Northwestern Law attract and retain distinguished faculty.  This year we honor with a ceremony and reception the installation of Andrew Koppelman as the John Paul Stevens Professor of Law, Steven Lubet as the Edna B. and Ednyfed H. Williams Professor of Law, and David J. Scheffer as the Mayer Brown/Robert A. Helman Professor of Law.

Alumni, faculty, students, and staff are invited to attend the ceremony, which will take place in Lincoln Hall on Friday, April 11 at noon. 

Koppelman joined the Law School faculty in fall 1997. His current research focuses on paternalism and perfectionism in the law, with special attention to the enforcement of morals.

Lubet serves as the director of the Law School's Program on Advocacy and Professionalism. In addition to over 50 books and articles on legal ethics and litigation, he has published widely in the areas of international criminal law and dispute resolution.

Scheffer serves as the director of the Center for International Human Rights and was the U.S. Ambassador at Large for War Crimes Issues (1997-2001) and led the U.S. delegation in U.N. talks establishing the International Criminal Court.During his ambassadorship, Scheffer negotiated and coordinated U.S. support for the establishment and operation of international and hybrid criminal tribunals and U.S. responses to atrocities anywhere in the world.

The John Paul Stevens Professorship was established in 1992 as a tribute to the Honorable John Paul Stevens, associate justice of the Supreme Court, by several of Stevens' classmates from the class of 1947.

The Edna B. and Ednyfed H. Williams Memorial Professorship of Law was established in 1969 through a bequest from Mrs. Williams in honor of her husband, a member of the class of 1909.

The Mayer Brown/Robert A. Helman Professor of Law was established by the firm Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw in 2005 to honor Robert A. Helman, longtime partner and leader at the firm and a 1956 graduate of the Law School.

  • Categories: