Willem C. Vis Moot Court

The annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot Competition is a unique professional and cultural experience and an essential training tool for law students wishing to pursue a career in international commercial law. The Vis Moot is designed to test the teams’ skills in drafting memoranda and oral advocacy and takes place during Easter week in Vienna, Austria, where students act as counsel in a fictitious commercial dispute between parties from different countries. In the Twentieth Annual Moot Court 2012-2013, approximately 1,700 students from 290 law schools in 67 countries participated. Over 800 renowned arbitrators, law professors, and lawyers from around the world participated in judging the competition. The Vis Moot is the world's largest private international law moot court competition.

The Moot is organized by the Association for the Organization and Promotion of the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (Verein zur Veranstaltung und Förderung des Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot). Institutional members of the Verein are Pace University, Queen Mary (University of London), Stockholm University, University of Vienna, Austrian Arbitration Association, Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, Moot Alumni Association, and the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law. Sponsors of the Moot include: International Centre for Dispute Resolution of the American Arbitration Association; Arbitration Institute of the Finland Chamber of Commerce; Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration; Chamber of National and International Arbitration of Milan; Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce; Center of Arbitration and Mediation of the Chamber of Commerce Brazil-Canada; CEPANI; Chartered Institute of Arbitrators; Chicago International Dispute Resolution Association; China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC); Chinese European Arbitration Centre, Hamburg (CEAC); German Institution of Arbitration (DIS); Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre; International Chamber of Commerce; JAMS; London Court of International Arbitration; International Arbitral Centre at the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber; Singapore International Arbitration Centre; Swiss Chambers' Arbitration Institution; and the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.

For more information, visit the Vis Moot website.

Joining the Team

Vis team in Vienna on the Graben The Vis Moot competition is open to second- and third-year law students who are interested in international arbitration and who have successfully completed or are enrolled in International Arbitration.

The team is supervised by Professor Lawrence Schaner and Adi Altshuler and requires a year-long commitment from all participants. Extensive time is spent drafting memoranda for the Claimant and the Respondent. In addition, team members will participate in extensive practice rounds during which they will hone their oral advocacy skills in preparation for the worldwide competition in Vienna in April.

At the Vis Moot, members will have the chance to argue for both the Claimant and the Respondent. It is recommended that Vis team members not compete in other moots due to the significant time commitments.

For more information about joining the Northwestern Law team, contact Professor Lawrence Schaner - team coach, or Adi Altshuler - team advisor.

Team Members

2013-2014: In Cho, Leonard Kim, JungEun Nicole Lee, Tianyu MA
2012-2013: Mi Chen, JungEun Nicole Lee, Victoria Lee, Kari Parks, Margaret Siller
2011-2012: Soeun Nikole Lee, Parminder Sawhney, Matthew Schultze
2010-2011: Brendan Casey, Emma Jones, Valerie Petein, Daniel Stern
2006-2007: George Huang, Ke Huang, Jen Kim, Jun Liu
2005-2006: Elizabeth Heurtematte, Jen Kim, Jeff Kogan, Sarah Scopel, Elizabeth Warnick
2004-2005: Joris Beckers, Veronica Li, Friedrich D. Nell, Brian Parker, Shivani Prabhakar, Tiffani R. Tatum, Elizabeth Warnick
2003-2004: Veronica Li, Danielle Mathey, Brian Parker, Tiffani R. Tatum
2002-2003: Ashley Baynham, Aengus H. Carr, Lisa Linney


  • October 4, 2013: Distribution of the Problem
  • December 12, 2013: Memorandum for claimant due
  • January 23, 2014: Memorandum for respondent due
  • March 1: Pre-Moot at Loyola University Chicago
  • April 11-14: Vis Moot Competition in Vienna, Austria

Vienna Argument Schedule

  • TBD


02/18/2013 Vis Team Wins Loyola Pre-Moot, Earns Best Speaker Honor

04/18/2012 Northwestern Law Vis Moot Team Excels in Vienna

03/07/2012 Vis Moot Team Member Wins Best Speaker Award

Team Sponsors

2012-2013 team sponsors include:

Gold Level

Jenner & Block Logo

Silver Level

Jae En (Jen) Kim

Bronze Level

Linklaters LLP
Northwestern International Law Society (ILS)
Parminder and Mohanbir Sawhney