Faculty Workshops

2017-2018 Faculty Workshop Series

The 2017-2018 Faculty Workshop Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.



Monday, August 21
William Henderson, Indiana University
Diffusion of Innovation in the Legal Industry

Monday, August 28
Lauren Rivera, Northwestern University (Kellogg)
When Two Bodies Are (Not) a Problem: Gender and Relationship Status Discrimination in Academic Hiring

Monday, September 11
Janice Nadler and David Dana
Regulation, Public Attitudes, and Private Governance

Tuesday, September 19
David Skeel, University of Pennsylvania
Oversight Boards, Municipal Bankruptcy, and the Path to Puerto Rico
Article 1
Article 2
Article 3

Monday, September 25
Eliav Lieblich, Tel Aviv University
The Case Against Police Militarization

Monday, October 9
Julie Cohen, Georgetown University
Between Truth and Power: The Legal Construction of Informational Capitalism, chapters 1 and 2 ("Everything Old Is New Again - Or Is It?" and "The Biopolitical Public Domain"). 
**Readers pressed for time should focus on Chapter 1.

Wednesday
Panel on Academic Freedom
Brian Leiter, Marty Redish, Dean Daniel Rodriguez, Deb Tuerkheimer
Article 1
Article 2
Article 3

Monday, October 16
Kate Shaw, Cardozo Law
Speech, Intent, and the Executive

Monday, October 23
Thomas Lambert, University of Missouri
How to Regulate

Monday, October 30
Shitong Qiao, University of Hong Kong
Exclusionary Megacities

Monday, November 6
Elisabeth de Fontenay, Duke University
The First-Drafter Advantage in M&A

Monday, November 13
Erin Delaney

Monday, November 20
Richard Schragger, University of Virginia

Monday, November 27
Camille Rich, University of Southern California

Monday, January 8
Daphna Renan, Harvard University

Monday, January 22
TBA       

Monday, January 29
Ganesh Sitaraman, Vanderbilt University

Monday, February 5
TBA       

Monday, February 12
Rabia Belt, Stanford University

Monday, February 19
Jennifer Laurin, University of Texas

Monday, February 26
TBA

Monday, March 5
Marah McLeod, University of Notre Dame

Monday, March 12
Richard Briffault, Columbia University

Monday, March 19
Barry Wimpfheimer, Northwestern University (Department of Religion)

Monday, April 2
David Rabban, University of Texas

Thursday, April 5
Mila Sohoni, University of San Diego

Monday, April 16
Issa Kohler-Hausmann, Yale University

Monday, April 23
Allison Hoffman, University of Pennsylvania

Monday, April 30
Alan Sykes, Stanford University


2017 Summer Workshop Series

The Summer Workshop Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Monday, August 7
Tonja Jacobi
The Supreme Irrelevance of Criminal Procedure Jurisprudence
Working Paper


2016-2017 Working Paper Series

The Working Paper Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Monday, September 26
Laurent Sacharoff (Arkansas Law)
Bitcoin: Characterizing the Blockchain

Monday, October 3
Bernadette Meyler (Stanford Law)
The Rhetoric of Precedent

Tuesday, October 11
Issachar Rosen-Zvi (Tel Aviv University)
Reclaiming Regionalism

Monday, October 17
Amanda Tyler (Berkeley Law)
Habeas Corpus

Monday, October 24
Destiny Peery
Beyond Explicit Bias: Incorporating Implicit Bias as a Theory of Discrimination

Monday, November 14
Michael Barsa
Rethinking the Dormant Commerce Clause:  Climate Change and Food Security

Monday, January 23
Ezra Friedman
Should Failure to Defend Imply Forfeiture of Coverage Defenses?

Tuesday, January 24
Josh Kleineld
Manifesto Democratizing Criminal Law

Monday, February 6
Jide Nzelibe
Vulnerable Treaties

Monday, February 20
Laura Pedraza-Fariña
Spill Your (Trade) Secrets: Knowledge Networks as Innovation Drivers

Monday, March 6   
Steven Lubet
Investigator Bias in Randomized Controlled Studies

Monday, March 13
Tonja Jacobi
Justice, Interrupted: The Effect of Gender, Ideology and Seniority at Supreme Court Oral Arguments
Appendix

Monday, March 27
Sarath Sanga
Incomplete Contracts and Strategic Ambiguity: Evidence From Silicon Valley

Monday, March 30
Juan González Bertomeu (ITAM Law School in Mexico City)
What/Whose Property Rights?  The Selective Enforcement of Land Rights under the Mexican Porfiriato

Monday, April 10
Wendy Wagner (Texas Law)
Dynamic Rulemaking

Monday, April 17
Veronica Root (Notre Dame Law)
Constraining Monitors

Monday, April 24
Traci Burch (Northwestern)
The Effect of Police- and Citizen-Initiated Checks of Pedestrians and Cars on Voter Turnout in St. Louis

Monday, May 1
James Forman (Yale Law)
Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America

Thursday, May 4
James Pfander
Constitutional Torts and the War on Terror

Monday, May 8
Amanda Rose (Vanderbilt Law)
The “Reasonable Investor” of Federal Securities Law: Insights from Tort Law’s “Reasonable Person” & Suggested Reforms

Monday, May 15
David Schwartz
Patently Risky: Framing, Innovation and Entrepreneurial Preferences

Monday, May 22
Ruth Gavison (Hebrew University Law)
Defining What's Jewish about the Jewish State: An Introduction to Ruth Gavison's Report to the Minister of Justice

2016-2017 10/10 Series

The 10/10 Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Monday, September 12
Matthew Kugler 
The Myth of Fourth Amendment Circularity

Monday, September 19
John McGinnis
Bitcoin:  Order without Law in the Digital Age

Monday, October 31
Carolyn Shapiro (Chicago-Kent Law)
The Language of Neutrality in Supreme Court Confirmation Hearings

Related Link

Specialty Workshops