Internal Faculty Workshops

2016 Summer Workshop Series

The Summer Workshop Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Tuesday, July 12
Jim Pfander
Constitutional Torts and the War on Terror; Chapter 5: Evaluating Justifications for Judicial Silence
Working Paper

Tuesday, July 26
Tonja Jacobi
Judicial Choice Among Cases for Certiorari
Work in Progress

Tuesday, August 2
Erik Hovenkamp (JD-PhD)
Competition, Inalienability, and the Economic Analysis of Patent Law
Working Paper

Tuesday, August 16
Raff Donelson (JD-PhD)
Research Statement for FAR Form

2016 Faculty Projects Day

Faculty Projects Day is a low-key way for people to share the various kinds of projects (research, cases/clinical work, other) that they have working on or plan to work on in the coming year. Each speaker will have ten minutes in all - 5 minutes to share a few thoughts about her project and 5 minutes for a question or two from those in attendance.

Faculty Projects Day be held August 23 in the Faculty Commons from 2:00pm to 5:00pm.

Presenter Schedule

2:00-2:10  John McGinnis
2:10-2:20  Andy Koppelman
2:20-2:30  Daniel Gandert    
2:30-2:40  Tonja Jacobi
2:40-2:50  David Schwartz    
2:50-3:10  Break
3:10-3:20  Jim Pfander
3:20-3:30  Juliet Sorensen    
3:30-3:40  Charlotte Crane    
3:40-3:50  Deb Tuerkheimer
3:50-4:00  Bernie Black    
4:00-4:20  Break
4:20-4:30  Jay Koehler
4:30-4:40  Len Riskin  
4:40-4:50  David Shapiro
4:50-5:00  David Dana
5:00-6:30  Reception

2016-2017 Working Paper Series

The Working Paper Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Monday, September 26
Laurent Sacharoff (Arkansas Law)
Bitcoin: Characterizing the Blockchain

Monday, October 3
Bernadette Meyler (Stanford Law)
The Rhetoric of Precedent

Tuesday, October 11
Issachar Rosen-Zvi (Tel Aviv University)
Reclaiming Regionalism

Monday, October 17
Amanda Tyler (Berkeley Law)
Habeas Corpus

Monday, October 24
Destiny Peery
Beyond Explicit Bias: Incorporating Implicit Bias as a Theory of Discrimination

Monday, November 14
Michael Barsa
Rethinking the Dormant Commerce Clause:  Climate Change and Food Security

Monday, January 23
Ezra Friedman
Should Failure to Defend Imply Forfeiture of Coverage Defenses?

Tuesday, January 24
Josh Kleineld
Manifesto Democratizing Criminal Law

Monday, February 6
Jide Nzelibe
Vulnerable Treaties

Monday, February 20
Laura Pedraza-Fariña
Spill Your (Trade) Secrets: Knowledge Networks as Innovation Drivers

Monday, March 6   
Steven Lubet
Investigator Bias in Randomized Controlled Studies

Monday, March 13
Tonja Jacobi
Justice, Interrupted: The Effect of Gender, Ideology and Seniority at Supreme Court Oral Arguments
Appendix

Monday, March 27
Sarath Sanga
Incomplete Contracts and Strategic Ambiguity: Evidence From Silicon Valley

Monday, March 30
Juan González Bertomeu (ITAM Law School in Mexico City)
What/Whose Property Rights?  The Selective Enforcement of Land Rights under the Mexican Porfiriato

Monday, April 10
Wendy Wagner (Texas Law)
Dynamic Rulemaking

Monday, April 17
Veronica Root (Notre Dame Law)
Constraining Monitors

Monday, April 24
Traci Burch (Northwestern)
The Effect of Police- and Citizen-Initiated Checks of Pedestrians and Cars on Voter Turnout in St. Louis

Monday, May 1
James Forman (Yale Law)
Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America

Thursday, May 4
James Pfander
Constitutional Torts and the War on Terror

Monday, May 8
Amanda Rose (Vanderbilt Law)
Paper forthcoming

Monday, May 15
David Schwartz
Paper forthcoming

Monday, May 22
Ruth Gavison (Hebrew University Law)
Paper forthcoming

2016-2017 10/10 Series

The 10/10 Series for Northwestern Law faculty will take place in the Faculty Commons from 12:00 - 1:00 pm. CLE credits will be offered and lunch will be provided.

 Note: Papers are private and accessible to Northwestern Law faculty only.

Monday, September 12
Matthew Kugler 
The Myth of Fourth Amendment Circularity

Monday, September 19
John McGinnis
Bitcoin:  Order without Law in the Digital Age

Monday, October 31
Carolyn Shapiro (Chicago-Kent Law)
The Language of Neutrality in Supreme Court Confirmation Hearings