

Book Preview Roundtable of Networks in Telecommunications

by Daniel F. Spubler and Christopher S. Yoo September 18-19, 2008

> Northwestern University School of Law 375 E. Chicago Avenue Chicago, IL 60611

Thursday, September 18, 2008

6:30 Reception

Devon Seafood Grill, Wine Cellar Private Dining Room (39 E. Chicago Avenue)

7:30 Welcome and Introduction

Henry N. Butler, Executive Director, Searle Center on Law, Regulation, and Economic Growth, Northwestern University School of Law

Friday, September 19, 2008

9:00 to 10:30 Session One – A Framework for Understanding Access to Telecommunications Networks

Chapter/Section: Chapter 1—The Economics of Networks

Chapter 2—The Design and Costs of Networks (Part A, The Optimal Design of Networks—Only)

Discussion Leader:

Daniel F. Spulber, Elinor Hobbs Distinguished Professor of International Business and Professor of Management Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

10:45 to 12:15 Session Two – The Transformation of Telecommunications Network Regulation

Chapter/Section: Chapter 5—Economic Effects of Regulating Access to Networks

Chapter 8—The Regulation of Local Telephone Networks

Discussion Leader:

Christopher S. Yoo, Professor of Law and Communication, University of Pennsylvania Law School

12:15 **Lunch – Roundtable Discussion**

Participants:

- 1. Henry N. Butler, Searle Center Northwestern University School of Law
- 2. Babette Boliek, GMU-Information Economy Project
- 3. **Michelle P. Connolly**, Federal Communications Commission
- 4. David Gabel, Queens College
- 5. Shane Greenstein, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
- 6. Keith N. Hylton, Boston University School of Law
- 7. Pierre Larouche, TILEC
- 8. John Lopatka, Penn State Dickinson School of Law

- 9. Julian Morris, International Policy Network
- 10. William Page, University of Florida Levin College of Law
- 11. Susan Perkins, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
- 12. William Rogerson, Department of Economics, Northwestern University
- 13. David Sappington, University of Florida-Gainesville
- 14. Hans-Bernd Schafer, University of Hamburg
- 15. William Sharkey, Federal Communications Commission
- 16. J. Gregory Sidak, Georgetown Law Center
- 17. D. Daniel Sokol, University of Florida Levin College of Law
- 18. James B. Speta, Northwestern University School of Law
- 19. Daniel F. Spulber, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
- 20. Jagannadha Pawan Tamvada, Max Planck Institute of Economics
- 21. Kevin Werbach, Wharton School
- 22. Ingo Vogelsang, Boston University, Economics
- 23. Christopher S. Yoo, University of Pennsylvania Law School

For more information regarding this conference or other initiatives of the Searle Center, please call (312) 503-1811 or send an email to searlecenter@law.northwestern.edu.