Andrew M. Koppelman

John Paul Stevens Professor of Law


Andrew Koppelman is John Paul Stevens Professor of Law, Professor (by courtesy) of Political Science, and Philosophy Department Affiliated Faculty at Northwestern University.  He received the Walder Award for Research Excellence from Northwestern, the Hart-Dworkin award in legal philosophy from the Association of American Law Schools, and the Edward S. Corwin Prize from the American Political Science Association.  His scholarship focuses on issues at the intersection of law and political philosophy.  He has written more than 100 scholarly articles and eight books, most recently Burning Down the House: How Libertarian Philosophy Was Corrupted by Delusion and Greed, (St. Martin’s Press).  His column appears regularly at The Hill.  You can find his recent work at


Areas of Expertise

  • Conflicts of Law
  • Constitutional Law
  • First Amendment
  • Law and Religion

Selected Publications

  • Does Obscenity Cause Moral Harm?, 105 Columbia Law Review 1635-1679 (2005).
  • The Tough Luck Constitution and the Assault on Health Care Reform (Oxford University Press 2013).
  • Defending American Religious Neutrality (Harvard University Press 2013).
  • Same Sex, Different States: When Same-sex Marriages Cross State Lines (Yale University Press 2006).
  • The Fluidity of Neutrality, 66 Review of Politics 633-648 (2004).

View More Publications


  • AB, University of Chicago
  • MA, Yale University
  • JD, Yale University
  • PhD, Yale University

Prior Appointments

  • Visiting Assistant Professor of Law, 1997, University of Texas at Austin
  • Assistant Professor of Politics, 1992-1997, Princeton University
  • Fellow, 1994-1995, Harvard University Program in Ethics and the Professions
  • Law Clerk, 1991-1992, Chief Justice Ellen A. Peters, Connecticut Supreme Court
  • Professional Staff Member, specializing in product liability reform, 1986-1987, U.S. Senate Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on the Consumer

Recent Consulting Activities

  • Zappone v. Revenue Commissioners (Ireland), Oct. 2006

Back to Faculty