

THE INSTITUTE FOR REGULATORY LAW & ECONOMICS and THE PAULA M. TRIENENS INSTITUTE FOR SUSTAINABILITY AND ENERGY PRESENT

NORTHWESTERN RESEARCH SYMPOSIUM Integrating Science and Law & Economics to Inform Energy Policy in a Decarbonized Future JUNE 25-26 | CHICAGO, IL

Tuesday, June 25 — Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

Thorne Auditorium

375 E. Chicago Avenue

Chicago, IL 60611

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

11:00-12:15 Registration Check-in and Informal Lunch

12:15-12:30 Welcome and Opening Remarks

Lynne Kiesling, Director, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics; Senior Research Affiliate, Northwestern Center on Law, Business, and Economics

Hari Osofsky, Dean and Myra and James Bradwell Professor of Law; Professor of Environmental Law and Culture (Courtesy), Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

12:30-2:00 Panel: New Technology Breakthroughs: Their Physical and Economic

Implications

Moderator: Ted Thomas, Founder, Energize Strategies; Former

Chairman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission

Panelists: Holly Benz, Clinical Associate Professor & Director, Master

of Science in Energy & Sustainability (MSES), Northwestern

University

Meghan Busse, Associate Professor of Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Jana Gerber, President, Microgrid North America, Schneider Electric

Jeff Lopez, Assistant Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering, Northwestern University

2:00-2:40	Active Break	
2:40-3:15	Report Out/Discussion from Active Break	
3:15-4:15	IRLE 20 th Anniversary Panel: Regulatory Decision-Making in a Changing Environment	
	Moderator:	Pat O'Connell, Commissioner, New Mexico Public Service Commission
		Rim Baltaduonis , Scientist. SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University; Associate Professor of Economics, Gettysburg College
		Lynne Kiesling , Director, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics; Senior Research Affiliate, Northwestern Center on Law, Business, and Economics
		Josh Macey , Assistant Professor of Law, University of Chicago Law School
		Ken Schisler, Regulatory and Government Affairs, CPower
		Carrie Zalewski, Vice President, Transmission and Markets, American Clean Power Association
4:15-4:30	Break	
4:30-5:00	Keynote Address: Title Forthcoming	
	U.S. Congres	ssman Sean Casten, 6 th District of Illinois (virtual)
5:00	Networking Reception	
6:00	Dinner	
6:45	Dinner Keyn	ote Conversation

Pat Wood, III, CEO, Hunt Energy Network; Former Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Former Chairman of

the Public Utility Commission of Texas

Lynne Kiesling, Director, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics; Senior Research Affiliate, Northwestern Center on Law, Business, and Economics

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

7:30-8:30 Continental Breakfast

8:30-9:45 Science, Economics, and Policy Lenses on Transmission Investment

Moderator: Ann McCabe, Commissioner, Illinois Commerce

Commission

Panelists: Jacob Mays, Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental

Engineering, Cornell University

Hilary Pearson, VP Policy & External Affairs, LineVision

Jim Rossi, Judge D.L. Lansden Chair in Law, Vanderbilt

University Law School

Shashank Sane, EVP Transmission, Invenergy

9:45-10:00 **Break**

10:00-10:45 Energy System Resilience Issues Short Presentations (10 minutes each)

- Winter Reliability
 - Timothy Fitzgerald, Associate Professor, Rawls College of Business, Texas Tech University
- Energy and Al
 - Kyri Baker, Assistant Professor and Lewis-Worcester Faculty Fellow, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, University of Colorado Boulder
- Energy-Water Nexus
 - David Rankin, Executive Director, Great Lakes Protection Fund
- Grid Decarbonization/Complex System Dynamics
 - o **Ermin Wei**, Associate Professor, Computer and Electrical Engineering,

10:45-11:15	Small Group Breakout Discussion of Resilience	
1:15-11:45	Report Out/Discussion from Small Groups (5 minutes each)	
11:45-12:00	Closing Summary	
12:00	Adjourn	

Confirmed Participants (as of May 13, 2024):

- 1. **Kyri Baker**, Assistant Professor and Lewis-Worcester Faculty Fellow, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, University of Colorado Boulder
- 2. **Rim Baltaduonis**, Scientist, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University, Associate Professor of Economics, Gettysburg College, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University and Gettysburg College
- 3. **Holly Benz**, Clinical Associate Professor & Director, Master of Science in Energy & Sustainability (MSES), Northwestern University
- 4. **Meghan Busse**, Associate Professor of Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
- 5. **Sean Casten**, U.S. Congressman, 6th District of Illinois (virtual Keynote Address)
- 6. **Timothy Fitzgerald**, Associate Professor, Rawls College of Business, Texas Tech University
- 7. Jana Gerber, President, Microgrid North America, Schneider Electric
- 8. **Lynne Kiesling**, Director, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics; Senior Research Affiliate, Northwestern Center on Law, Business, and Economics, Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics
- 9. **Jeff Lopez**, Assistant Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering, Northwestern University
- 10. Josh Macey, Assistant Professor of Law, The University of Chicago Law School
- 11. **Jacob Mays**, Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Cornell University
- 12. **Ann McCabe**, Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission
- 13. Pat O'Connell, Commissioner, New Mexico Public Service Commission
- 14. **Hari Osofsky**, Dean and Myra and James Bradwell Professor of Law; Professor of Environmental Policy and Culture (courtesy), Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
- 15. **Hilary Pearson**, VP Policy & External Affairs, LineVision
- 16. David Rankin. Executive Director. Great Lakes Protection Fund
- 17. Jim Rossi, Judge D.L. Lansden Chair in Law, Vanderbilt University Law School
- 18. Shashank Sane, EVP Transmission, Invenergy
- 19. Ken Schisler, Regulatory and Government Affairs, CPower
- 20. **Ted Thomas**, Founder, Energize Strategies, Former Chairman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission
- 21. **Ermin Wei**, Associate Professor, Computer and Electrical Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering, Northwestern University

- 22. **Pat Wood III,** CEO, Hunt Energy Network, Former Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Former Chairman of the Public Utility Commission of Texas
- 23. **Carrie Zalewski**, Vice President, Transmission and Markets, American Clean Power Association