Originalism and History: An Interdisciplinary Discussion

October 4, 2019

An interdisciplinary conference on the subject of originalism and history.

Conference Organizers: John McGinnis and Jim Pfander 


Akhil Reed Amar, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, Yale University
Randy Barnett, Carmack Waterhouse Professor or Legal Theory, Georgetown Law
Mary Sarah Bilder, Founders Professor of Law, Boston College Law School
Nikolas Bowie, Assistant Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
Laura K. Donohue, Professor of Law, Georgetown Law
Mary L. Dudziak, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Law, Emory University
Jonathan Gienapp, Assistant Professor of History, Stanford University
Mark A. Graber, Regents Professor, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
Kenneth I. Kersch, Professor of Political Science, Boston College
Alison LaCroix, Robert Newton Reid Professor of Law, University of Chicago Law School
John O. McGinnis, George C. Dix Professor in Constitutional Law, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
James E. Pfander, Owen L. Coon Professor of Law, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
Jack Rakove, Emeritus William Robertson Coe Professor of History and American Studies, and Professor of Political Science and (by courtesy) Law, Stanford University
Michael B. Rappaport, Hugh and Hazel Darling Foundation Professor of Law and Director of the Center for the Study of Constitutional Originalism, University of San Diego
James R. Rogers, Political Scientist, Texas A&M University
Lawrence B. Solum, Carmack Waterhouse Professor of Law, Georgetown Law
George Thomas, Wohlford Professor of American Political Institutions, Claremont McKenna College and Director of the Salvatori Center
Amanda L. Tyler, Shannon Cecil Turn Professor of Jurisprudence, University of California, Berkeley School of Law
Keith E. Whittington, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Politics, Princeton University


Originalism and History: An Interdisciplinary Discussion is supported by the Jack Miller Center through a gift from the Thomas W. Smith Foundation.