Global Jurist of the Year

Global Jurist of the Year


Judge Miguel Ángel Gálvez

The Center for International Human Rights is honored to bestow its eighth Global Jurist of the Year Award
to Guatemalan Judge Miguel Ángel Gálvez in recognition of a career spent holding power to account, protecting human rights, and defending the rule of law in Guatemala, even at great personal risk. 

Gálvez will officially accept the award at a ceremony and dinner at the Law School on Wednesday, March 1, 2023. RSVP


The Global Jurist of the Year award is co-sponsored by the Buffett Institute for Global Affairs, IRAP Northwestern, the International Legal Foundation, Baker McKenzie LLP, the National Institute for Trial Advocacy, Jones Day LLP, the International Association of Women Judges, Fried Frank LLP, Vinson & Elkins LLP, DLA Piper LLP, and Baker Botts LLP. 

Previous award recipients include:

2022 - Guatemalan Judge Miguel Ángel Gálvez

2021 - Women Judges in Afghanistan

2020 - Justice Mumbi Ngugi, High Court of Kenya | Recordings: Session 1  Session 2 

2016 - Justice Rosalie Silberman Abella, Supreme Court of Canada

2015 - Judge Gloria Patricia Porras Escobar, President of the Guatemalan Constitutional Court

2014 - Justice Shireen Avis Fisher, President of the Special Court for Sierra Leone

2013 - Acting Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke of South Africa’s Constitutional Court