Four Faculty Members Appointed to Named Chair Professorships

April 11, 2012

Faculty Chair Ceremony

Northwestern Law is pleased to announce the appointment of four faculty members to named chair professorships. In April, the Law School will hold a ceremony to recognize these professors and to mark the installation of Dan Rodriguez as dean of Northwestern Law. The four faculty members are:

  • Thomas F. Geraghty as the Class of 1967 James B. Haddad Professor of Law.  Tom Geraghty, associate dean for clinical education and the director of the Bluhm Legal Clinic, has been a member of the faculty since 1970. Under Professor Geraghty’s superb leadership, our Legal Clinic has grown into one of the most diverse and comprehensive among the country's law schools, comprising 13 centers and more than 20 individual clinics. Professor Geraghty maintains an active caseload at the Clinic, concentrating primarily in criminal and juvenile defense, death penalty appeals, child-centered projects dealing with the representation of children, and juvenile court reform. The Class of 1967 James B. Haddad Chair was established in 1992 by members of the class of 1967 in honor of their classmate, James B. Haddad.
  • Jonathan J. Koehler as the Beatrice Kuhn Professor of Law.  Jay Koehler joined the Northwestern Law faculty in 2010 after serving as a visiting professor at the Law School in 2009-10. Professor Koehler’s studies center on quantitative reasoning in the courtroom, forensic science, behavioral decision theory, and behavioral finance. His empirical studies have been supported by grants from the National Science Foundation and the National Institute of Justice, and he is currently running a series of experiments that examine how jurors respond to different types of forensic testimony. The Beatrice Kuhn Chair was established in 1987 by Neil G. Bluhm, a 1962 graduate of the Law School, who named the chair in memory of his mother.
  • John O. McGinnis as the George C. Dix Professor in Constitutional Law.  A leading constitutional law scholar, John McGinnis joined the Northwestern Law faculty in 2002. Professor McGinnis teaches in the areas of constitutional law, international law, and antitrust, and he has written more than ninety articles in professional and popular journals.  The George C. Dix Professorship in Constitutional Law was established in 1998 by the estate of Irmgard Dix in honor of her husband, a member of the class of 1928. Though prior appointees have held this professorship on a rotating basis, Professor McGinnis will be the permanent holder of the Dix Professorship.
  • Daniel B. Rodriguez as the dean of the Law School and the Harold Washington Professor.  Dan Rodriguez assumed his new role as dean and Harold Washington Professor on January 1, 2012. Dean Rodriguez is a nationally prominent law teacher and scholar, with his principal academic work in the areas of administrative law, local government law, statutory interpretation, and state constitutional law. He is a leader in the application of political economy to the study of public law and has authored or co-authored a series of influential articles and book chapters in this vein. The Harold Washington Professorship was established by the Board of Trustees in 2006. The chair is named in honor of Harold Washington, former mayor of the City of Chicago and a 1952 graduate of Northwestern Law.

The Chair Ceremony and Dean Installation will take place on April 12, 2012. The ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. in Lincoln Hall, followed by a reception in the atrium.