Julius H. Miner Moot Court Competition

Julius H. Miner Moot Court Competition

A Tribute to the Honorable Julius H. Miner

Julius Howard Miner arrived in Chicago from Russia during his early childhood. He attended Kent College of Law, and received an LLB degree. He was admitted to the Illinois Bar in 1917.

Never satisfied that he had learned all that he could about the law, Judge Miner attended post-graduate classes at Northwestern University School of Law while presiding as a Cook County Circuit Court Judge. In 1945, he earned a Masters of Law from Northwestern.

In 1958, President Dwight Eisenhower appointed Judge Miner to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. At the time of his death in 1963 Judge Miner was working on a Ph.D. thesis.

We are extremely grateful for the entire Miner family for their continued support of this competition.

Past Miner Moot Court Champions (pdf)

Past Problems and Sample Briefs 


Register to participate in the 2021 Julius H. Miner Moot Court!

The Problem packet will be released in January 2021. Specific details about the problem and the rules will be provided in January and posted here.

Judge Information

When to Arrive at Northwestern Law
If you are planning on attending dinner at the law school before your scheduled round, please arrive by 6:00 P.M. Dinner will be held in Lowden Hall, located on the first floor of the Levy-Mayer building of the law school. There will be signs throughout the law school directing you towards Lowden Hall. Following dinner, there will be a brief explanation of this year's problem, as well as a question and answer session.

If you cannot attend dinner, please arrive at the law school by 7:00 P.M. to check in and to find your assigned room. Check-in will take place outside Lowden Hall, on the first floor of the Levy-Mayer building. There will be signs throughout the law school directing you towards Lowden Hall.

  • Directions to the Law School: The law school is located at 375 E. Chicago Avenue, approximately at the intersection of Chicago Avenue and Lake Shore Drive.
  • Parking Information: We are more than happy to provide parking for you. Parking is available in the Abbott Hall parking lot, which is the last parking lot on the south side of Superior Street before Lake Shore Drive. The parking lot is across the street from the law school's Robert McCormick Hall, and will be accessible all nights of the tournament.
  • Campus Map


The briefs are due Sunday, January 24th before 5 p.m. All submissions should be emailed directly to both Karolina Bartosik and Mariah Young

The preliminary rounds of this year's competition will take place on:

  • February 4
  • February 8
  • February 15
  • Round of 4, February 18

The elimination rounds will take place as follows:

  • Octo Final, February 22
  • Quarter finals, February 25
  • Semi finals, March 1

The final round will take place Friday, March 5 at 3:30 p.m.
Rules (pdf)


For questions about participating as an alumni judge, please e-mail our Alumni Outreach Team.

For all other questions, please e-mail Karolina Bartosik and Mariah Young.