What We Do

Mission Statement

The Student Bar Association is the student government for Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law. A four-member Executive Board governs SBA decisions.

The mission of the SBA Executive Board is as follows:

  • To build participation among students in SBA events, committee efforts, and student organization activities.
  • To create a culture of collaboration among student organizations.
  • To foster a strong working relationship between the student body, administration, faculty, and staff.
  • To promote a constructive community dialogue in which diverse opinions and suggestions are welcome and respected.

The SBA Executive Board is elected by the student body in the spring semester of each year and meets monthly with Dean Hari M. Osofsky and other members of administration.

The SBA Executive Board also holds bi-monthly General Assembly meetings open to the entire student body during which topical student concerns are addressed and Committee Chairpersons provide updates on their efforts, achievements, and future goals.

In the spring semester of each year the student body also elects 2L, 3L and ABA Representatives, and SBA Committee appointments for the following year are made by the incoming SBA Executive Board. In the fall semester, 1L, LLM and MSL Representatives are elected. 1L and LLM SBA Committee Appointments are also made at that time.


The activities of the Student Bar Association and all Northwestern Pritzker School of Law student organizations are governed by the SBA Constitution.

School Policies

The following are school policies supported by the SBA:

SBA Alcohol Policy

University Alcohol Policy for Graduate and Professional Students

Northwestern Code of Classroom Etiquette